Unusual Things in Excelsior Springs

Posted: October 11, 2013 in Events, Kansas City, Life, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

Earlier this year, The Elms Resport & Spa in Excelsior Springs, MO, was visited by The Atlantic Paranormal Society (TAPS) for an investigation that would air on their SyFy network show “Ghost Hunters”. The Kansas City Star also wrote a solid article on the day of the episode’s airing. Earlier today, the Excelsior Springs Standard published an article detailing how the town has its allure of being haunted.

Watching this episode brought back some memories that I’ve only shared with a few people over the years. I spent nine months at the Excelsior Springs Job Corps Center (ESJCC), which has its own story regarding the buildings on its property. Prior to its purchase by the United States government and its service as ESJCC, the property was utilized as a veterans hospital. The original building on the property dates back to ownership by Colonel E.L. Morse in the 1890s. Over the years, there have been a number of documented paranormal experiences, of which a google search can elaborate upon, and a couple of which I’ll briefly touch on in a bit.

During my nine months there, I personally had two encounters. The first of which took place in the main level of the old E.L. Morse mansion building (identified as Humphrey Hall, at the time – a search on Google Maps indicates that this entire building has since been removed), which served multiple purposes including the cafeteria on the south end of the structure. I was sitting at one of the cafeteria tables with a few friends having a meal, and in the midst of conversation, my plastic tumbler of chocolate milk was moved several inches across the table. There was no condensation on the outside of the tumbler that would have created a slick surface. Through Facebook, I am still in contact with two of the people who I regularly sat with, and were likely at that table at the time. I’ll be curious to find out if they have any recollection of it.

The second incident of mine occurred in the main auditorium level of the Armstrong Social Hall. Between a set of large windows along the western wall of this area, there was a large mirror. I glanced up into the mirror, and saw a shadow/silhouette/whatever you wish to call it pass behind me. I was one of only a handful of people in that area at the time, and there was nobody directly behind me who would have been seen in the angle of the mirror’s reflection.

I’m unsure when the Humphrey Hall structure was demolished (Google Maps’ street view houses an image from July 2008 that still shows Humphrey Hall in place), but it was surely for the best. While my experience in that building was simply intriguing, there were much worse documented over the years, including an apparition that occasionally appeared standing on top of the building, and the fact that the entire upper floor of the building was blocked off with various stories as to why (although staff would never officially verify why).

I extend my thanks to the TAPS crew for re-sparking my memories of these incidents.

ESJCC-HumphreyHall

(Excelsior Springs Job Corps Center – Humphrey Hall (to the left of the breezeway) – as seen in Google Maps street view from July 2008)

Comments
  1. Bonnie says:

    I grew up in Excelsior Springs, right across the street from the Elms and could see the veteran’s hospital up on the hill out our back window (yes, I’m that old. When I was a kid, it was a hospital). My mom was positive our house was haunted, but being the skeptic I was, even as a child, I never witnessed anything spooky. Never saw a ghost at the Elms either… oh well…

    • vivid13 says:

      When I enrolled and joined on with ESJCC, I was coming out here straight from St. Louis, so I had *zero* knowledge of the history of either the buildings on that property or the town itself. In my 9 months there (Sept 1999 – June 2000), I learned a LOT, and am still learning and very curious about it all. I’d like to be able to go back on campus there sometime and see what all has changed, as well as go re-visit The Elms.

  2. Reblogged this on Haunts of Missouri and commented:
    This is a fascinating story. I found it researching some of the hauntings of Excelsior Springs. Please read.

Leave a Reply

