An Open Letter To My Daughter On Her 3rd Birthday

Posted: August 11, 2013 in family, Life
Tags: , ,
20130721_091942

(on the way to the movies to see “Turbo” – 7/21/13)

To my amazing daughter,

Time truly does pass us by entirely too quickly when we’re enjoying it. While helping you with your dry-erase board last weekend, I found myself looking over at the Lightning McQueen chair I found for you for your first birthday. Now, you’re three, and it feels like just a few months ago that I brought that chair home for you.

So much has changed in those two years, and you’ve grown so much. You’re so much more interactive, and you understand so much more. I know you may not quite understand everything here just yet, but here are a few things I’d like to share with you.

Stay a child as long as you possibly can, because once you go on and become an adult, you can never truly go back. Trust me.

You may do things that I don’t like, and I may get upset/angry about it. Rest assured that there’s always a reason for my feeling that way – most likely because I just want you to be safe. The thing that hurts me the worst is seeing you hurt.

No matter what happens, at the end of the day, I’m on your side.

There are things that I did during my childhood that I’ll always look back on fondly. I’m appreciative of the ability to pass some of those things along to you, and share them with you. Plane and train spotting, for example. My grandfather gave me a great appreciation for both of those, and it was quality bonding time with him. I’m glad I can do the same with you.

We’ve had plenty of things that have proven to be learning experiences for both of us. Things like learning to ride your trike. You’ve learned how to pedal and steer. I’ve done my best to learn how to find that fine balance between protecting you and letting you do your thing. Bonding time and the memories created from them are always less expensive than urgent care or hospital visits.

Sometimes it’s the simplest of things that you do which make me happy. Like getting excited when Daft Punk comes on the radio. Like cupping your hands together to show me how you will hold the baby cows, despite the fact that those cows, even as babies, are still much bigger than you. Like eskimo kisses. Like joining me in blowing out the candle in the bathroom after bath time.

So much as taken place in the first three years. I know so much more will happen, and so many learning lessons for both of us will take place in the next three years… and then some. Ferris Bueller said it perfectly: “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it”. I don’t want to miss a moment with you.

Happy 3rd Birthday, Jennah. I never knew I could love you as much as I do, and you help me find ways to love you even more every day.

Comments
  1. Debbie Meade - Proud owner of Smoke The NASCAR HHR & Grandma to Forest says:

    This is awesome Jeremy. As I sit here and read this, I think about all the memories I have made with my grandson Forest. Last night I had dinner with his family so we could celebrate him leaving for college. Can you believe that? It seems like just yesterday we were all at Kansas Motor Speedway having the time of our lives, but that was 6 years ago. Forest would have been 12 and Jennah was not even born…my how time flies. They grow up before you know it, so make all the memories you can.

  2. Stefanie says:

    That was just awesome! I know you and how much you love your daughter! This made me cry Jeremy! I know what an awesome Dad you are to Jennah! That is one lucky little girl! I hope that God’s plan is for you two is to be around each other for a long, long time.

Leave a Reply

