The topic of this month’s breakfast for the Social Media Club of Kansas City (SMCKC) was “Social Media Burnout”. I tuned in late to the ustream feed, so I’ll have to catch what I missed when the broadcast is uploaded for on-demand, but what I did see hit home in a lot of ways. Conversation about burnout/fatigue, and how to work with it, from both members of businesses and from casual social media users.

Panelists for the forum included Ramsey Mohsen (@rm), Brooke Beason (@brookebeason), Doug Weinbrenner (@dougweinbrenner), Shea Sylvia Carter (@sheasylvia), and Mike Brown (@brainzooming), and Alexis Ceuele (@alexisceuele). All of whom are prominent among the Kansas City social media scene in various ways. All of whom had their own unique perspectives as to how they handle their social media use, and how to prevent/react to the concept of burnout.

The topic is not something unfamiliar to me. Especially after becoming a father. My balance among social media shifts at times, and nothing is a constant. I’ve backed off of certain aspects of it, and shifted more towards other aspects. I’ve had my stints of semi-regular blogging, as well as blog drought (or as was labeled within the panel, “mental constipation”). I have several blogs that are mid-progress right now, for planned release at specific points in time, and those specific blogs have been easier to work with because it’s a different building process. If the thought crosses my mind, I open them up and add a few lines, save, and get out. Lather, rinse, repeat. It’s far different from trying to write off the cuff, as I am right now. They also require less time, ultimately, because I don’t find myself stuck mid-paragraph trying to figure out where my mental train derailed.

Twitter and Facebook are a different, but not unrelated, topic. I’ve backed off of Twitter considerably as of late, especially with the final death and burial of Tweetdeck. I still throw tweets out every now and then to see what floats and what sinks in regards to potential interaction and engagement. I’ll occasionally do searches for specific topics (i.e. my sports teams, current news events, or in this morning’s case, the conversation amongst the #SMCKC feed). These days, my usage is more on Facebook, as it just feels easier to manage without feeling overconsuming.

I’ve also learned to back off from the amount of time spent on social media apps on my phone. If my phone is out while I’m around home when we’re all awake and spending time together, it’s more likely to be on a game (probably either Words With Friends or Mini Golf Match-Up, and odds are decent that I’m playing against my other half) than on Twitter or Facebook. When I lay down with our daughter to get her to go to sleep at night, that’s usually when I’ll actually take time to peruse through my twitter timeline without looking for anything specific.

This is my first published blog effort in exactly one month, and all it took was a speakers’ panel discussing the exact thing I’ve been attempting to balance on my own.

Leave a Reply

