Pepsi Rehashes Its Roots With Throwback Sodas

Posted: May 8, 2009 in Uncategorized

Vivid & Throwback

If you were to ask anyone who has known me for any REAL amount of time, they could tell you that my soda intake these days is down significantly from how it used to be. Back in the day, downing a sixer of Cherry Coke or Mountain Dew in a day was not a big deal. I had done so well in cutting back and limiting my soda amounts.

Until now.

Introducing Pepsi Throwback and Mountain Dew Throwback. Offered as an alternative (as both are “limited edition” items) to standard Pepsi and Dew, the Throwback editions harken back to the days of using real sugar instead of the modern substitute of corn syrup. The result is a sweeter, smoother drink.

This is a concept I was introduced to a number of years ago, involving Dr Pepper. While standard-issue Dr Pepper (with corn syrup) is available everywhere, there is a limited availablity of what is known as “Dublin Dr Pepper”. It’s Pepper with pure cane sugar, named for the Dublin TX manufacturer that produces it.

I have already heard the “purist” debate from people I have talked with, saying that Pepsi has gone and ruined a good thing by putting these two products out. I respectfully disagree, not only because I happen to favor the real sugar variations, but because these are not being put out as *replacements* – simply as limited-edition alternatives.

Agree? Disagree? Either way, let me know. If you’re in the area, perhaps we can discuss it over a cold beverage – Throwback OR classic.

Comments
  1. JohninKC says:

    I can’t find throwback Pepsi at my typical grocery stops. Mountain Dew is readily available but no joy on the Pepsi, which I can’t wait to try. I for one wish these weren’t limited editions and where here to stay. I use to search for “mexican”/ surgar cane coke until it became readily avaliable in the KC area in the last year or so.

    • vivid13 says:

      John – depending on whereabouts in KC you are, select Price Choppers have had it, and I’ve yet to find a Hy-Vee that didn’t have it available. Worst-case scenario, if you can’t find it anywhere where you’re at and are truly adamant about trying out the Pepsi Throwback, let me know and I can meet up w/you somewhere and bring a few cans or something.

  2. dumbwhore says:

    I first heard about these on NPR the other day. And they had the lady and some guy who runs http://bevreview.com on there. They mentioned that you don’t realize how over carbonated the current pepsi is just so that you don’t notice how syrupy the HFCS makes the soda. And they mentioned that Jones soda has been on pure case sugar for a few years now. And apparently the Mountain Dew throwback has enormous differences. They cut back on the orange juice along with the HFCS.

    Anyhow, I am excited that they’re offering these drinks and definitely want to try them out. Thanks for writing about this as I’d heard the bit on NPR and thought about buying some but then kind of forgot about it. Later.

  3. Average Jane says:

    I was a little disappointed in the flavor of the Pepsi. It was a little too smooth and seemed bland to me, unlike the much-superior imported Coca-Cola from Mexico that I get at the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

